Thursday, May 5, 2022

Full Length Review: Ancestral Sin "Social Hate Speech" (Dance Hard Records) by Corban Skipwith

Band: Ancestral Sin
Location: Leeuwarden
Country: Netherlands
Genre: Hardcore, metal
Full Length: Social Hate Speech
Format: Digital album, limited edition 12" vinyl
Label: Dance Hard Records
Release date: April 29, 2022
It’s crazy to me that I get to review a a band that has been going since 1989! Literally 5 years before I was even born and yet here they are still making music, kicking ass and taking names! Here we have a grinding Thrash Core band that truly lives up to their sub genre name sake with their brutal and fast instrumentation, their aggressive singing/shouting style and their short bursts of mostly one minute tracks to give you that quick dose of energy and violence and I love every second of it.
If I had to draw comparisons three bands come to mind!
-Black Flag
To me they have the vocal style of KENMODE with that intense shouting style, then you have those short bursts of violence that Nails is infamous for as well as that classic late 80’s early 90’s hardcore rebellious Punk sonic aesthic that Henry Rollins and the crew in Black Flag would be known for! So if you were to combine the best elements of all those worlds then this is the album you would get and I couldn’t be happier with the result because at first glance based on the lengths of the tracks it doesn’t appear to be a long album but regardless they provide the same energy, passion and hunger for 100 bands!
I love also how on some songs they add these little doom inspired interludes such as intros to songs like ‘Paracide’ or ‘Demon In The Demagogue’ there’s even a tiny Bill Burr voice sample added in here somewhere if I’m not mistaken? Regardless I love it, makes the record that much more colorful and interesting and memorable.
In closing, this is one fucking badass record, for a band that has been going as long as they have they have definitely mastered their craft in every way possible and I can’t wait to hear more from them! Corban Skipwith

Jake: Vocals
Klaas: Guitars
Shantia: Bass
Ragnar: Drums

Track list:
1. Social Hate Speech
2. More Of The Shame
3. The Apathist
4. Release Peace
5. Paracide
6. Narcissus Borealis
7. Grind To A Halt
8. Waste Of God
9. Demon In The Demagogue
10. Greenwash
11. Wrong Side Of Right
12. Western Paradigm
13. Conspiracy Theme (Infodemic)
14. Why Do You Hate Me
15. S.T.I.T.C.H.
16. Dark Matter

No comments:

Post a Comment