Monday, October 21, 2019

Demo Review: ENCRYPTMENT "Mangel Från Söderort" (Independent) by Devin Joseph Meaney

Location: Stockholm
Country: Sweden
Genre:  Crust, death metal, black metal
Demo: Mangel Från Söderort
Label: Independent
Format: Digital, streaming
Release date: May 10, 2019
A few days ago I happened to scroll upon the release 'Mangel Från Söderort' by Encryptment. It took only a few moments for me to grasp the emotion behind this music, and after having it on repeat three or four times, I can say that I was positively blown away by the atmosphere of this demo. This is pure blackened revelry at its finest!
This demo is tagged as having influences coming from crust punk and death metal, but you can almost swim within the waves of black metal that permeate this release. The band Shining comes to mind when I listen to Encryptment, which is no insult, as Shining have produced many tracks filled with breath taking musicianship. (Niklas Kvarforth is a bit of a pessimist, but hey, this is about the music, right?)
The guitar work on Mangel Från Söderort is highly eerie, which adds to the feelings of the music as a whole. The vocals and drumming are both tight, and the bass brings the whole thing together like a smörgåsbord of dark delights.
I usually prefer reviewing shorter demos, as it allows me to listen to the music a few times before I sit down to write. With this release in particular, I was actually hoping there was more. It was that damn good! As I am in my bedroom writing this, I have Mangel Från Söderort playing for about the tenth time. No matter how many times it plays through, I always want to put it on again!
These guys originate from Stockholm, Sweden, and have been active since 2015. This is their second release, after their debut EP that I intend to listen to very soon! I am not always in the mood for tunes on the blackened side, but when the feeling strikes, I will for sure remember this band. Great music. Great atmosphere. Great band! Hails to Encryptment for producing such a gem! 10/10 -Devin Joseph Meaney

Christoffer Dorsin: Vocals
Marcus Bengtsson: Guitars
Anton Kleback: Bass
Joel Eriksson: Drums

Track list:
1. Grå utopi
2. Min dröm
3. Knivar och öppna sår

No comments:

Post a Comment