Friday, March 10, 2023

Full Length Review: Bleeding Spawn "Pathogenic Mechanized Abomination" (Independent) by Devin J. Meaney

Band: Bleeding Spawn
Country: South Africa
Genre: Brutal death metal
Format: CD, digital
Label: Independent
Distributor: CDN Records
Release date: January 29, 2016
Another tape I snagged from CDN Records was “Pathogenic Mechanized Abomination” by Bleeding Spawn! This tape was released directly through CDN and features 9 tracks of vicious death metal. The exact style is hard to pin-point as it features bits and pieces from both modern and classically fuelled death.
With track titles like “Epileptic Stabwound” and “Fetal Feces Splatter” you know exactly what you are in for when you throw this one in your tape deck. It is heavy and vile and blasts forward with all the force of a machine gun blast. The vocals are aggressive, the guitar tone is a mix of new-age and lo-fi and overall this release is a win.
This is not my “favourite” from my recent batch but it is “one of the better ones”. My only negative comment is that the backing vocals aren’t my favourite style (a form of bree style gutturals) but as they are used sparingly this is easy to live with and in the long run everything is brought together nicely and I can state that I will be listening to this one again and again.
The cassette itself is a clear/grey which isn’t entirely standard but the artwork for the album is pretty cool. To make a close, for the price of a few donuts or something this one is worth the funds and I’d suggest it to anyone looking for some heavy chugs and audio carnage! -Devin J. Meaney

Mitch Wilken: Vocals
Gary Parkin: Guitars
Darius Wilken: Guitars
Dominic Vorster: Bass, vocals
Dominic Bulmer: Drums

Track list:
1. Indoctrinated Chaos
2. Megacorpse Apocalypse
3. Hate Blow Trauma
4. Butchered and Beaten
5. Rise of the Machine
6. Malicious Intent
7. Divide and Conquer
8. Fetal Feces Splatter
9. Epileptic Stabwound

No comments:

Post a Comment