Sunday, November 26, 2017

EP Review: THE GOOPS Bored And White

Release date: June 3, 2016
If suburban angst of a James Dean film could be replicated in the form of music then the offerings of punk group THE GOOPS and their EP 'Bored and White' would certainly be an apt contender. A short EP in length, yes, but it most certainly isn't lacking in terms of punch and aggression. The group relentlessly toured in the Nineties with notable acts such as THE OFFSPRING and RANCID, - and it's fair to say retrospectively they haven't been given the recognition they so rightly deserve based on their association with said contemporaries alone. The title track is built around a guitar theme which fully utilizes pinch harmonics, giving it a moderately post-punk edge ala JOY DIVISION, VIOLENT FEMMES or TELEVISION. 'Twelve Forty-Five' features a solid 4/4 groove and is very reminiscent musically of STEPPENWOLF fused with a tinge of contemporary punk. Lyrically the track deals with post-breakup angst. 'Dead Alive' is probably the best number on the EP due to its seethingly outrageous attitude and thumping rhythms; - and not to mention the backing vocals which have a very nice touch to them! Next comes a cover of the short-lived, Michigan-based 70s punk group SONIC'S RENDEZVOUS BAND 'City Slang' although obviously more modernized. 'Hate You' was recorded live at one of their first CBGB shows and it gives an interesting insight to the group at perhaps a more vulnerable position. Live they have a very dishevelled, raw and no-nonsense attitude which I like although I think it only works in a live context so I'm glad they didn't incorporate it into their studio works so much. 'Giggletown 2' is the EP's closing track and offers a diversion from the group's usual electric output accompanied by female-fronted lead vocals. The song is primarily acoustic, upbeat and features male vocals which offers perhaps a tad "comic relief" element to the mix. Overall it's a must-have for fans of old-school punk rock, CBGB enthusiasts and existing fans of THE GOOPS. -Jaime Regadas

Track list:
1. Bored and White
2. Twelve Forty-Five
3. Dead Alive 92
4. City Slang 92
5. Hate You (Live at CBGB)
6. Giggletown 2 (Acoustic)

UPDATE: I just discovered The Goops contributed a song to Kevin Smith/s movie Mallrats and were spoofed on Beavis and Butthead. What a small world we live in. -DW

No comments:

Post a Comment