Tuesday, January 3, 2017

CD Review: ANAAL NATHRAKH The Whole Of The Law (Metal Blade) by Simon Brown

The Whole Of The Law
Metal Blade
Birmingham black metal legends Anaal Nathrakh deliver an album I’ve been waiting to review for some time. Nihilistic in delivery, impressive vocal performance complemented by highly developed musicianship. Songs such as “We Will Fucking Kill You” and “On Being a Slave” mean the listener is intentionally left unsettled by a wall of sound, unrelenting to capture the fury against existence. Well produced yet beautiful in an ugly delivery. This is an example of black metal done right yet still having good use of dissonance to showcase the stylistic essence. Very tasteful solos are used sparingly though highlight this band’s individuality in approach. It also shows why they’ve lasted for many years. The band also hold a keen sense of irony, performing a cover of Iron Maiden’s “Powerslave.” Something the listener would not expect from a band of these leanings. On a final note, the use of sampling in some songs also adds to the eerie dissonance of the release. Here is a band not afraid to experiment, and it works. Nothing is overdone. Highly recommended and release of the week. -Simon Brown

Track list:
1. The Nameless Dread
2. Depravity Favours the Bold
3. Hold Your Children Close and Pray for Oblivion
4. We Will Fucking Kill You
5. ...So We Can Die Happy
6. In Flagrante Delicto
7. And You Will Beg for Our Secrets
8. Extravaganza!
9. On Being a Slave
10. The Great Spectator
11. Of Horror, and the Black Shawls
12. Powerslave (Bonus Track)
13. Man at C&A (Bonus Track)

No comments:

Post a Comment