Saturday, January 14, 2017

CD Review: RAJALLA Diktaattori

Inverse Records
Released December 30, 2016
Founded in 2011, Rajalla is a Helsinki based Finnish thrash metal quartet. Their debut album "Diktaattori" (Dictator) presents 13 tracks of intense, straightforward and aggressive thrash metal. Lyrical themes explore issues such as guilt, life choices and responsibilities. Thematically, lyrics explore the sociology of Finnish life and all lyrics are written in their native language. From the opening title track it is clear this album has been digitally produced but this does not detract from the overall performance. The reason for this is the vocals are not sung in that monotone shout which seems to be the leading trend in the thrash/crossover movement at present. Here, the solos add to the music rather than being thrown in as an afterthought in a commercial approach. Very precise drumming and lines from the bass round out the sound in a good manner. “Arpa” shows a diversity in a mixed tempo and variation in vocal tonality which works successfully. Whilst this band make huge nods towards modern Slayer and Testament, “Kurittaja” and “Taaka” I found were notable tracks. Like most bands of this genre, most songs clock in at around the 3 minute 30 second mark. An exciting band to look out for in the future with a solid release. -Simon Brown

Track list:
1. Diktaattori
2. EVK
3. Etsijä
4. Arpa
5. Ihmisviha
6. Kurittaja
7. Verivala
8. Taakka
9. Vihan Kieltäjä
10. Rajan Taa
11. Viisi Vastaan Yksi
12. Isäntä
13. Risteyskohta

No comments:

Post a Comment