Thursday, September 16, 2021

Full Length Review: Freakstorm "Storm Inside My Heart" (Afraid Of Sunlight Records) by Corban Skipwith

Band: Freakstorm
Country: Germany
Genre: Metal, rock
Full Length: Storm Inside My Heart
Format: CD, Digital album
Label: Afraid Of Sunlight Records
Release date: June 25, 2021
So this is the latest full length album by band Freakstorm a band from Germany and this would be my first time listening to them.
What I discovered among these 9 tracks is a band who not only had the brains to take the best elements from their influences but to incorporate them in a way that makes for a fun, catchy and emotionally heavy experience.
Let’s talk production because listening to this album you can hear a whole range of various influences and inspirations such as
-Alternative Rock
-Pop Rock
-Classic Hard Rock
-Alternative Metal
All these ‘Rock’ based elements are drawn to their best selves with the instrumentation of groovy guitar leads, kicking drums (no pun intended) and slick bass to help leave a tasteful experience to the listener.
It was actually really interesting because depending on the track presented I could hear so many different artists running through my head for comparisons.
-Pat Benatar
-Fiona Apple and more!
It was exciting to hear so many different styles and fusions spread across the album. The lyricism was on a case by case basis in which every song presents a different topic and mood, reinforcing a different emotional response and feeling to the listener, doing this made for a very entertaining listen and one I shouldn’t soon forget!
Now to the vocal performances because they were really the star of the show. Although the production and instrumentation were amazing and well played the singer who pulled off those harmonies and melodies deserved a lot of the praise. She kept in tune with the various inspirations and sung clean, heartfelt and passionate lines! You could hear the drive and the soul within her.
It was impressive how from one song to the next she adjusted her singing style and mood to cater to the emotional context of the track that came next, she altered based on the situation and I give a lot of respect for that! Knowing how and when to adjust certain things for the album sake is honestly something most don’t do and I’m glad we saw a shining example of what TO do in this scenario.
I really liked this album guys, it was sold from front to back, the different styles and sonic aesthetic was brilliant and the songs were catchy and on point, If your someone whose only into the heavier sounds of Metal then this may not be for you but I highly suggest you give this album a try none the less!
The album link is done below and let’s all help each other out by supporting our local bands and helping them go viral! SHARE, SHARE, SHARE! –Corban Skipwith

Sinah Meier: Vocals
Oliver Hartmann: Guitars (session musician)
Dennis Ward: Bass (session musician)
Olli Fuchs: Drums

Track list:
1. Storm Inside My Heart
2. Wicked
3. Unbreakable Tonight
4. Not The One
5. Can't Keep Me Down
6. Shot Down In Flames
7. Out Of The Door
8. Nothing
9. Here's To Us (Bonus track)

This review can also be read at Corban Skipwith's Facebook group Relentless Reviews with Corbz. -DW

No comments:

Post a Comment