Wednesday, September 22, 2021

Full Length Review: Hundred Headless Horsemen "Apokalepsia" (Inverse Records) by Corban Skipwith

Band: Hundred Headless Horsemen
Location: Helinski
Country: Finland
Genre: Psychedelic death metal
Full Length: Apokalepsia
Format: Digital album, digipak CD
Label: Inverse Records
Release date: May 21, 2021
Welcome back everyone, back with another review and today I want to talk about an album that utilizes the keyword of the day ‘Patience’ and how they pull this off will be explained here.
Apokalepisa by Hundred Headless Horsemen
So, this album was released May of this year and features 6 tracks all running over 5 minutes with the longest track (the intro) running at a sizeable ‘11:47’.
What I felt whilst listening to this album was a sense of creativity and freedom of which I don’t encounter every day, see for a band to take this route of ‘ultimate progression’ you need.
Within these 6 tracks you have moments of buildup and ambient style aesthetics running through the track for a good 2-3 minutes before the heaviness steps in, they take their time with the production and the vibe they are trying to convey to the listener.
With the elimination of ‘time’ you can create and navigate wonders through your art and expression and that’s exactly what I felt here.
To be honest this is the only album I’ve heard in the past few years that (at least as far as instrumentation is concerned) reminds me of the band ‘Swans’ who are notorious for their elegant and sometimes terrifying use of buildup, suspense and concept building.
While I was listening to this record I felt a sense of awe as each minute of each song felt free and breathable, there was no rush to complete the song or the album as a whole, this level of complexity and desire can only be achieved when you destroy the need for ‘An Order’ or a ‘Schedule’ to release by.
As far as the sound goes, it gives off this strong progressive infused with Black Metal vibe, for the times when the vocals are present they are strongly Black Metal focused with those harsh death growls howling throughout the airwaves.
At the very least I can say this is an album that mastered the art of tranquility and divine art. This isn’t your conventional album focused on ‘hits’ and a ‘mainstream’ appeal.
This is for those who love a strong conceptual narrative and creativity. If you’re looking for something exciting, cutting edge and unique then this would be your natural point of interest! –Corban Skipwith

Track list:
1. The Road
2. No Longer Human
3. Breath of Death
4. Echoes
5. Spleen
6. Cataclysm

This review can also be read at Corban Skipwith's Facebook group Relentless Reviews with Corbz. -DW

No comments:

Post a Comment