Tuesday, February 7, 2017

CD Review: FROZEN SAND Fractals: A Shadow out of Lights (Independent) by Simon Brown

Opening up with an instrumental/sampling track to create atmosphere, Frozen Sand describe themselves as experimental - alternative- progressive. What they are is quite interesting and capable of creating atmosphere with good songs and that’s all which matters. Well produced without being overdone, here is a band with range and compositional diversity to match. “Perfect Inspiration” is an excellent introduction to this band, showcasing to the world astute dynamics and an intensity which is genuine. Hailing from Italy, this band approach lyrical themes on their self-released album by creating songs as part of a story. As with any progressive band, there are a multitude of time changes on each track, but these are done tastefully. The band is undoubtedly assisted on this release by superior production and mixing, however, underneath lies talent in composition and delivery. The eight tracks are a perfect length and display this band’s wide range of stylistic influences. “Everlasting Yearning” is another standout track with power metal leanings. For fans of Katatonia, Arcturus and late era Borknagar. Highly recommended. -Simon Brown

Track list:
1. A Melody through Time and Space
2. Perfect Inspiration
3. Everlasting Yearning
4. Sail towards the Unknown
5. Yell of Hesitation
6. Rule this World
7. You - Partial - Perfection – Daylight
8. Silent Raven
9. Frozen Sand's First Full-Leght,

No comments:

Post a Comment