Thursday, October 28, 2021

EP Review: Mutilated Tyrant "Ho’dichiih Dóó’ Sáji’" (Independent) by Corban Skipwith

Band: Mutilated Tyrant
Location: Ganado, Arizona
Country: USA
Genre: Native American black metal
Format: Digital album, compact disc (sold out)
Label: Independent
Release date: February 19, 2020
What’s good everyone! Anyone even surprised I’m back so soon? At this point this is my second full time job!
Regardless, it’s EP time! By a band called Mutilated Tyrant and their album
-Ho’dichiih Dóó’ Sáji’
So, what we have here is a 4 song collection featuring one intro and a combination of over 17 minutes of track play.
Let me start off by saying this is a classic Black Metal affair, plus just like any great band that does this style of music they have maintained both their own unique stamp on the sound but also utilizing the trademark staples of the classic era that makes this sub-genre such a compelling one in the first place!
Let me say this, this album has no problem going brutally heavy and doing so using amazing production and mastering. What they’ve managed to do here is have the EP sounding crisp and fresh whilst simultaneously capturing the essence and spirit of that dark, dangerous and doom like feel you get when listening to Black Metal music.
When listening to the vocals I can tell the singer incorporates more of the death growl tones and sounds rather than the cliché screeching and high pitch, I would compare these vocals to more of a ’Gorgoroth’ type sound vocally anyway it’s really a nice change of pace to have a vocal performance stick constantly one way, not to say singing variations is bad by any means necessary but it is good to hear ‘consistency’ every once in a while.
From the intro to the finale this project brings you everything you would want from a Black Metal album and then some! It’s rooted in the traditions of the ancestors of Metal and yet they have the brains to incorporate their own personality and grit to the mix so you’re getting a unique experience combining the old and the new to create something special!
Go check out the EP down below and you’ll see what I’m talking about! Feel the magic! –Corban Skipwith

Lardel Tsosie: Guitars, vocals
Goatslaughter: Bass
Rory James: Drums

Track list:
1. Hymns (Intro)
2. Under The Cold Dark Moon
3. The Night's Eternal
4. Ho'dichiih Dóó Sáji'

This review can also be read at Corban Skipwith's Facebook group Relentless Reviews with Corbz. -DW

1 comment: