Thursday, October 21, 2021

Full Length Review: Nigrum Tenebris "I Am The Serpent" (Sol / Deviant) by Corban Skipwith

Band: Nigrum Tenebris
Location: Kassel, Hesse
Country: Germany
Genre: Black metal
Full Length: I Am The Serpent
Format: Digital album, CD
Label: Sol / Deviant (Germany)
Release date: September 11, 2021
Who’s ready for another Bandcamp bazooka of a time? Me too! Let’s get into it!
Nigrum Tenebris with ’I Am The Serpent’
I am so excited to share with you this album, this 6 track odyssey straight from the realm of Bandcamp providing listeners with some of the most interesting yet equally savage looks at ‘Black Metal’
You can tell this one stands out based on the intro, man that intro. It makes you feel like you’re about to start watching an awesome mysterious fantasy movie about Vikings and monsters, treasure and adventure.
But as soon as that little sonic love affair is over we jump ship straight back to the gruesome heart of the ‘Black Metal’ and boy what a jump it was!
I love how they incorporated various elements of instrumentation to the fold on this one! For example you have parts that have loads of density and straight raw brutality with those lo fi mastering, low registers of guitar and at times even vocals! But then in the exact same breath they bring such introspective groove and technicality that you just don’t see or hear very often when it comes to this style of music!
For such a short project they really do pack quite the inventory of technique, raw emotion, thrashing speed and reckless for 10 on this insane collection of tracks!
I have to admit, I have such soft spots for albums or releases that manage to be shorter than the rest yet pack the most flavour, they understand that they have to be near ‘perfect’ in execution and delivery to keep the listeners entertained and satisfied with such length and these guys absolutely nail it!
I’m going to keep it short and sweet in this one, this is a great fun sized record that hits everything you could possibly need or want for your metal album! Go support the band and check out their album! Trust me, you won’t regret it! –Corban Skipwith

Maldoror: Vocals
Noxathra: All instruments

Track list:
1. Intro
2. The Beauty Of Suffering
3. I Am The Serpent
4. False Prophets
5. Spit To Our Creeds
6. Ode To The Nothingness

This review can also be read at Corban Skipwith's Facebook group Relentless Reviews with Corbz. -DW

No comments:

Post a Comment