Saturday, December 3, 2016

CD Review: SERPENTINE DOMINION Serpentine Dominion

Serpentine Dominion
Metal Blade
Serpentine Dominion are a melodic death metal project formed in 2009 by members of Killswitch Engage (Adam Dutkiewicz), The Black Dahlia Murder (Shannon Lucas) and Cannibal Corpse (George “Corpsegrinder” Fisher) and based in California. “Serpentine Dominion” is their self-titled, full length 2016 release. From the opening tracks- technical death metal played at a relentless breakneck speed is consistent throughout this release. A melodic approach applied to the brutal wall of sound intended to assault your ears continues through this release- while a harmonising mix between clean vocals and guttural growls provide another unexpected aspect. Slightly slower paced and more melodic tracks allow the listener to focus on the technical aspects of the music while remaining consistent to Serpentine Dominion’s polished, technical sound. Ripping through to a brutal and unrelenting aural assault mid release allows a more death metal influence to become apparent-allowing the listener to further appreciate their musical diversity. Technical drum work is incredibly tight within this release, assisted by technical riffs and aggressive bass further enhance both the clean and guttural vocals. The melodic aspects are amplified by a technical approach- remaining consistent to the brutal and aggressive approach customary of Serpentine Dominion. A brief instrumental interlude provides another insight into the musical diversity displayed within this release- a slow and unexpected melodic track before resorting back to the face melting brutality consistent throughout this release. -Sarah McKellar

Track list:
1. Intro
2. The Vengeance in Me
3. Vanquished Unto Thee
4. Divide, Conquer, Burn, and Destroy
5. Sovereign Hate
6. On the Brink of Devastation
7. Jagged Cross Legions
8. Prelude
9. This Endless War

No comments:

Post a Comment