Wednesday, January 12, 2022

Full Length Review: God "GOD V - Sin - Part I" (Independent) by Corban Skipwith

Band: God
Genre: Multi-layered progressive metal
Full Length: GOD V - Sin - Part I
Format: Digital album
Label: Independent
Release date: December 25, 2021
Wow, talk about coming full circle. I’ve reviewed so many artists and bands that now here I am, about to review GOD. As someone who was raised Mormon I have to say this is quite the interesting twist but an exciting one nonetheless!
So, this is an album that came out on Christmas of all days! With a track list of twelve songs.
What we have here is an instrumentally driven Magna Carta of epic proportion. Every song has its own unique feel and sound, emotion and vibe, production and aesthetic. Although they all are their own independent unit they all form together beautifully in perfect synchronized harmony helping build each other up and continue the overall story and experience that is ‘GOD’.
To me, this sound is a blend of ‘Progressive Metal’ and ‘Math Rock’ so imagine a combination (sonically) between a band like ‘Animals As Leaders’ and ‘Dream Theater’ or ‘Opeth’ and that’s what you’ll get! Very technically sound instrumentation with the grand, larger than life production and polish to it! Something you’d imagine a really high quality TV show soundtrack to consist of, that’s how good this sounds, it’s crisp, creative, smart and killer all at the same time!
I love the almost ‘ambient’ feel the songs have when listened to as a full album, it provides such sonic brilliance that you can’t help but admire the vision and the effort provided by the band (or by GOD himself) whoever made this. There’s so much to be said on this without a single word ever spoken, it’s cleverness to be able to pull off an instrumental project that’s so mind blowing deserves all the respect in the world.
So, if you’re looking for the next album to vibe to then look no further than this one right here! Its skill will surely blow you away plus its grooves will have you playing air guitar all the way home! Corban Skipwith

Track list:
1. Unbelief - Part I
2. Sin - Part I - Temptation Leads To Sinful Desire
3. Sin - Part II - Entertain Thoughts To Justify Sinful Desire
4. Sin - Part III - Sin By Consent To Disobedience
5. Sin - Part IV - Sin Leads To Death
6. Sin - Parts I - IV
7. Marriage
8. Divorce
9. Love - II
10. Indifference
11. Forgiven
12. Unforgiveness

No comments:

Post a Comment