Tuesday, November 1, 2016

CD Review: KINGDOM "Sepulchral Psalms from the Abyss of Torment" (Gods Ov War Productions) by Simon Brown

A highly produced and polished blackened death metal band, Poland’s Kingdom open with a sample leading into the title track. This album has everything I would expect from a release aiming to be nasty and full of fire. Guttural vocals, shredding solos and insane instrumentalism which would give Bephelgor a run for their money. Again, this genre is not accessible to the masses, and nor should it be. “Forsaken Tribe” offers a mid-pace respite by comparison the rest of the album, then it’s back to business of the blast. Kingdom describe their main influence as Darkthrone, yet I think this would be selling themselves short. They are clearly blackened death, but offer so much more to differentiate themselves from a flooded market. “Abyss of Death” provides both fast and slow sections which provide diversity, thus saving the album to descend into a wall of blast beats. This album I highly recommend. -Simon Brown

Track list:
1. Spulchlar Psalms
2. Monolith Of Death
3. Forsaken Tribe
4. Kaplica Ducha Zgniłego
5. Abyss Of Torment
6. Black Rain Upon The Mountain Of Doom
7. Whispering The Incantation Of Eternal Fire
8. Cromlech (Darkthrone cover)

No comments:

Post a Comment