Tuesday, November 1, 2016

CD Review: VVORSE "Näkyjä Helvetistä" (Inverse Records) by Simon Brown

Opening with the track “Kaatopaikka,” the listener is presented with thrash metal holding death metal influences. The production is very muddy here and even the bass could possibly be using distortion to add to the overall atmosphere. The drums appear to hold a very familiar death/thrash style beat with very little variation used throughout. Vocals are pitched at the thrash/crossover timbre many fans of the style would be familiar with. Very noticeable are the lack of solos in this release. This is something I would expect from the style, but rather Vvorse capitalise upon the use of breakdowns. VVorse hail from Jyväskylä, Finland, an area more known for bands such as Beherit, Children of Bodom and Nightwish. Vvorse align themselves closer to bands such as D.R.I, Municipal Waste, Tankard and the like. A challenging release to listen to, Vvorse are admirable in their passionate delivery in a genre which is hard to differentiate releases from. -Simon Brown

Track list:
1. Kaatopaikka
2. Ilman katumusta
3. Näkyjä Helvetistä
4. Painajainen
5. Exitus
6. Kehdosta hautaan
7. Haudantekijä
8. Ikuisesti sota
9. Saasta

No comments:

Post a Comment