Wednesday, January 25, 2017

CD Review: ANAL TRUMP That Makes Me Smart!

That Makes Me Smart!
Since this came out last November fans of grindcore, deathgrind and extreme music in general have been raving about it. Web blogs from Noisey to Lambgoat to Metal Injection get their message in relation to the present state of the country which is admittedly self-explanatory. Cattle Decapitation vocalist Travis Ryan and musician/engineer Rob Crow formed this band with the sole purpose of mocking Donald Trump and his presidential run, in the vein of Anal Cunt. From 1989 to 2011 Anal Cunt (or A.C. as they were known in some areas) were the kings of politically incorrect grindcore, releasing albums and EPs with titles like Everyone Should Be Killed, 40 More Reasons To Hate Us, It Just Gets Worse, Defenders Of The Hate and Wearing Out Our Welcome. They mocked every sacred cow under the sun with no concern about offending people until frontman Seth Putnam passed away in 2011. This new band is like A.C. reincarnated as an anti-Trump machine as his behavior during his campaign for president and the many headlines resulting from them are parodied and help up for ridicule here, from his demands to build a wall to the equally infamous “pussy grabbing” quote. If you are among the millions in the anti-Trump camp you will find these song titles side-splittingly hilarious, as A.T. swing the non-PC stance of A.C. the other way to bash Trump in a three minute rant consisting of thirty tracks, some of them as brief as three or four seconds. Some may think Ryan and Crow should forget about emulating A.C. and establish their own concept, and I would understand the sense in this, but still I would imagine the late Putnam may have done something similar if he was around today, and I can’t help but see the humor in song titles like Poor People Are Too Stupid To Get A Loan From Their Parents, Journalism Is Gay, Grab Em By The Pussy and Poll Watcher. From these and the other tracks appearing on it, this album is the second best thing to marching in the streets to protest Trump. Most ironic, returning to A.C. for a moment, is that while Putnam’s subject matter was social satire Trump is apparently serious about the things he has said, if the news articles I have been reading about his presidency are any indication. The article on this album by Noisey commented on this, noting the content of his lyrics are now apparently accepted in the White House. The lyric video Rob Crow released for the album reflects Noisey’s statement that any definition of what an extremist position is has flown out the window with Trump’s election. In its own way That Makes Me Smart! is a political statement in its own right. A.T. has also released the EP To All the Broads I've Nailed Before digitally this month; the CD version is expected out in March. -Dave Wolff

Track list:
1. You Gotta Treat Em Like Shit
2. PTSD Is Gay
3. Some Mexicans Aren't Rapists
4. I Like The Soldiers Who DON'T Get Captured
5. My Daughter Is A Piece Of Ass
6. Poor People Are Too Stupid To Get A Loan From Their Parents
7. There's My African American!
8. Blood Coming Out Of Her Wherever
9. Mexican Judges Don't Count
10. Journalism Is Gay
11. I'd Date My Daughter
12. Grab Em By The Pussy
13. Take His Coat
14. Breast Feeding Is Gay
15. Ted Nugent Is Cool
16. Dave Mustaine Is Cool
17. Trump Tower Has The Best Taco Bowls
18. Poll Watcher
19. Some Things Saddam Hussein Did Well
20. Changing Diapers Is Gay
21. Build That Wall
22. Alex Jones Is Smart
23. I'm In Astonishingly Excellent Health
24. Stay In Your Pens
25. 911 Was Inconvenient For Me, Personally
26. Make America Great Again
27. Nobody Respects Women More Than Me
28. Harriet Tubman Is, Like, A 3
29. I Demand An Apology!
30. That Makes Me Smart!

No comments:

Post a Comment