Thursday, February 14, 2019

Full Length Review: COMPOST Vegetable Goregrind (Eyes of the Dead Productions) by Devin Joseph Meaney

Place of origin: Rome, Italy
Genre: Goregrind
Full Length (Compilation): Vegetable Goregrind
Label: Eyes of the Dead Productions
Release date: January 21, 2016
Since its inception, goregrind has been nothing but a playground for the vile and the grotesque. In recent years, this fact has changed slightly, as the genre has been diving head first in another direction. Wickedness still exists within goregrind... but there is another route that one could take. Formicidae has ants. Phyllomedusa has frogs. Now I introduce to you ''Vegetable Goregrind,'' the discography release from detritus inspired goregrind band Compost. Hailing from Rome, this band is a delicious little blast of gore-grinding fun and I suggest that anyone into goregrind ''with a twist'' checks out this release. The vocals range from deep pitched gutterals to excessively high shrieks and wailing vocalizations. The guitar work is done well, and the drums ping along in the background bringing the whole thing together nicely. The production quality varies from track to track, but this means very little within the goregrind genre. If Last Days Of Humanity and Mucupurulent had a baby, this band would be the fetus birthed within the compost bin. I mean this in a good way, of course. In ways, this band also reminds me of the bands Gut and Tumour, though the lyrical themes are vastly different. There is not much more to say except that this release is a highly entertaining blast of gore, and it has a certain ''class'' about it that not all gore has. This is a great band. This is not pornogrind... this is Compost! -Devin Joseph Meaney

Luca: Vocals
Zenn: Guitars, vocals
Andrea: Bass
Samuele: Drums

Track list:
1. Decomposted
2. Inferior Angiosperm
3. And Another System Failed (Ulcerrhoea cover)
4. Bangla Bar
5. Anal Drilled by Mystical Potato
6. Deportation of Tomato Babies
7. Drillbit
8. Obviously Cultivated
9. Farmer Condiloma
10. Infected Spores
11. Agricoltural Demise Through Desertification
12. Intermezzo
13. Bulbs
14. Buried in Humus
15. Total Strolication
16. Rests of Yesterday Meal
17. Bacteria
18. Cell
19. True Norwegian Carrots
20. Tu Sei Concime
21. Untitled
22. Decomposted (split with Archagathus – 2013)
23. Total Strolication (split with Archagathus - 2013)
24. Rests of Yesterday Meal (split with Archagathus - 2013)
25. Pulverized Necrobrains (Xysma cover) (split with Archagathus - 2013)
26. Tu Sei Concime (split with Archagathus - 2013)
27. Intercooler (split with Insomnia Isterica - 2009)
28. Obviously Cultivated (split with Insomnia Isterica - 2009)
29. Inferior Angiosperm (split with Insomnia Isterica - 2009)
30. Deportation of Tomato Babies (split with Insomnia Isterica - 2009)
31. Cripple Bitch (Gut cover) (split with Insomnia Isterica - 2009)
32. Anal Drilled by Mystical Potato (split with Necrocannibalistic Vomitorium - 2009)
33. Canzone Triste Per Persone Tristi (split with Necrocannibalistic Vomitorium - 2009)
34. Carrot Terrorism (split with Necrocannibalistic Vomitorium - 2009)
35. Farmer Condiloma (split with Necrocannibalistic Vomitorium - 2009)
36. Stolon (split with Necrocannibalistic Vomitorium - 2009)
37. Vegetables Noise (split with Necrocannibalistic Vomitorium - 2009)
38. We Are Veget-Arians (split with Necrocannibalistic Vomitorium - 2009)
39. Noise Blues (split with Necrocannibalistic Vomitorium - 2009)
40. Consequence (Ulcerous Phlegm cover) (split with Ultimo Mondo Cannibale - 2009)
41. Ergotism (split with Ultimo Mondo Cannibale - 2009)
42. Infected Spores (split with Ultimo Mondo Cannibale - 2009)
43. Muffa (split with Ultimo Mondo Cannibale - 2009)
44. Intercooler (Frigoverre demo - 2008)
45. Ergotism (Frigoverre demo - 2008)
46. We Are Veget-Arians (Frigoverre demo - 2008)
47. Bong (Frigoverre demo - 2008)
48. Uaui (Frigoverre demo - 2008)
49. Stolon (Frigoverre demo - 2008)
50. Amembranoproliferative Glumerulonetricius (Frigoverre demo - 2008)
51. Syphilistic Suffering (Frigoverre demo - 2008)

No comments:

Post a Comment