Sunday, January 17, 2021

Full Length Review: Dispyt "Under Tiden Jag Sålde Min Själ Till Satan" (Immortal Frost Productions) by Dave Wolff

Band: Dispyt
Country: Finland
Genre: Blackened crust punk
Full length: Under Tiden Jag Sålde Min Själ Till Satan
Format: Digital album, jewel case CD (limited to 1000 copies)
Label: Immortal Frost Productions
Release date: December 11, 2020
After the progressive and experimental albums I’ve listened to recently and occasional forays into classic sixties and seventies rock, it’s refreshing to hear something out that’s raw, dirty and obnoxious while offering no excuses for being so. It is what it is, and Dispyt is to listen to when you simply don’t give a fuck about musical convention or subtlety. “Under Tiden Jag Sålde Min Själ Till Satan” is a skull crushing exercise in how much noise a band can make and how much they can offend anyone and everyone within earshot in the process. This ain’t Ozzie and Harriet music as one might say, but if rock and roll defines subcultures with a sense of belonging from baby boomers to millennials this Finland band fits the bill. Especially if you listen to Discharge, Sore Throat, Brujeria and The Crown on a consistent basis. The attitude that fuels this album, as much as their 2017 debut “Den Ständigt Närvarande Ångesten” is, if you don’t find it appealing, fuck you. If you do find it appealing, fuck you anyway. That musicians and bands still cop this attitude is testimony that there remains a need for it, along with their reflections on angst, depression, addiction, and societal judgment. Some things never change, and we should appreciate bands who come along to kick complacency exactly where it hurts. Even recited in their home language, all this comes through loud and clear. There is not a moment of capitulation or efforts to soften the blows this album puts forth, not in the abrading musicianship or the rasping vocal fry. This isn’t to say the intensity Dispyt display is not tempered by professionalism, as the instruments are tight and the production is scrubbed by the rough-hewn execution of these songs, without becoming too glossy. For all these reasons I liked this album instantly and wouldn’t be surprised if it got regular rotation on my playlist. So what are you waiting for? Give this a listen as soon as you can if you seek total sonic annihilation. –Dave Wolff

Owe Inborr: Drums, guitars, vocals
Juuso Englund: Guitars, vocals
Mathias Lillmåns: Bass, vocals

Track list:
1. Filtrera Min Världsbild
2. Ditt Förvärv, Mitt Fördärv
3. Total Jävla Ångest
4. Vad Var Det Nu Igen Man Borde Ha Varit
5. Jag och Demonen
6. Verkligheten Kallar
7. Ödmjukhetens Hand
8. Sluta Döma
9. Utslagen och Sönder
10. Under Tiden Jag Sålde Min Själ till Satan
11. Avklarad och för Länge Sen Glömd
12. Mannen i Slips
13. Skenhelighetens Monotoni

No comments:

Post a Comment