Saturday, April 23, 2022

Full Length Review: Qaalm "Resilience & Despair" (Hypaethral Records, Trepanation Recordings) by Corban Skipwith

Band: Qaalm
Location: Los Angeles, California
Country: USA
Genre: Atmospheric funeral doom metal
Full Length: Resilience & Despair
Format: Digital, double LP (Hypaethral Records), CD (Trepanation Recordings), cassette (Trepanation Recordings)
Label: Hypaethral Records, Trepanation Recordings
Release date: April 15, 2022
In the darkest corners of your life, the ‘no go’ zones as our minds have so successfully labeled them, have you ever entertained the idea of visit? The thought of getting an up close and personal ‘glimpse’ into the unbearable chaos and fear that dwells within each section of your mind?
I doubt it.
And if you have it was an involuntary response created by the fear of death, the panic of stress, the anxiety of life itself opening the ‘forbidden door’ in the worst times possible.
Resilience: Is there even a point anymore? Tell me visitor do you feel the urge? Are you flowing with Courage? Strength? Passion? Anything other than pure DESPAIR over the possibility of the Abyss. That ever so lingering abyss that is here to stay no matter how ‘successful’ you become or how ‘rich’ you decide to live your existence.
I’m telling you all this visitor as not only an important fable but as a warning. You are not safe, your soul has not been redeemed and your life is only one bad day away from hitting rock bottom, what ‘resolve’ will you find there? What meaningless optimism will you mumble to yourself in this time of anguish and crippling fear?
Because for all the selfish good deeds you perform, for all the joy and happiness you brought onto others just trying to scrub off one piece of your blackened heart at a time, in the end ‘reality’ always conquers all and in time you will see, feel, taste, hear and smell the unhindered truth that is “Resilience & Despair”. Corban Skipwith

Pete Majors: Lead vocals
Henry Derek Elis: Lead guitars, vocals
Brock Elmore: Rhythm guitars, vocals
David Huet: Bass
Dave Ferrara: Drums

Session Musicians:
Steve White: Drums & keys on all songs
Kakophonix: Cello on songs 3 & 4

Track list:
1. Reflections Doubt
2. Existence Asunder
3. Cosmic Descent
4. Lurking Death

No comments:

Post a Comment