Saturday, December 11, 2021

Full Length Review: Anatomy of Habit "Even If It Takes A Lifetime" (Independent) by Corban Skipwith

Band: Anatomy of Habit
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Country: USA
Genre: Experimental post-punk, doom metal
Format: Digital album, compact disc, cassette
Label: Independent
Release date: December 10, 2021
I must speak on this a lot but sometimes ‘patience’ can be the most powerful virtue in music when done correctly and I think I’ve found one of the strongest in metal of the year!
Anatomy of Habit -Even If It Takes A Lifetime
I must say, amongst these three tracks this album title is quite relevant to the aesthetic they build for themselves because with ‘PATIENCE’ they had a lifetime of time to create the perfect sonic utopia.
What we have here is a three track ‘experience’ similar to how various streams can all lead to the same river.
Every song has this elegant beauty to it that only comes with the gift of composure, diligence and endurance. As far as the sound and production of this album this to me feels like what would happen if the band Anathema tried to create an album similar to what Swans would do. All the tracks are long and drawn out but have that uncanny tranquil and relaxing quality to them that Anathema is perfect for capturing.
They aren’t worried about ‘bangers’ or ‘Hit songs’ more they are about keeping the EP consist and flowing properly into each other.
The final track on this album ‘Now We Finally Know Ourselves’ is a 19:14 minute extravaganza that ends things in the most ‘Progressive Metal’ way possible with extensive guitar work, harmonious vocal performances and an overall feeling of euphoria.
I’ll be honest, this album probably isn’t for everyone. It’s a very ‘soft’ album so to speak, it’s not the kind of album you’d play if you were trying to get pumped up or when you need energy but if you’re looking for an ‘experience’ and have enough time on your hands to really isolate yourself and immerse in this sonic world created then I feel there’s lot to enjoy and plenty to dissect and discover upon many re-listens.
Go support this band today and share this! Corban Skipwith

Mark Solotroff: Vocals, analog synth
Alex Latus: Guitar
Sam Wagster: Bass, lap steel, piano, keyboard
Isidro Reyes: Metal percussion
Skyler Rowe: Drums, vibraphone

Track list:
1. A Marginal World
2. Your Pure Breath
3. Now We Finally Know Ourselves

No comments:

Post a Comment