Sunday, January 15, 2023

EP Review: Nasum "Songs of Regressive Hostility" (Death by Digital) by Devin J. Meaney

Band: Nasum
Country: Sweden 
Genre: Grindcore
EP: Songs of Regressive Hostility
Format: Cassette
Label: Death by Digital
Release date: May 8, 2021
“Songs of Regressive Hostility” by Nasum! Nasum is a band I first heard of in my early teen years so I was quite set on seeing if I still enjoyed their music. The tracks on this cassette were recorded in 1997 and were originally released in 1998—so it is a bit dated—but this did not effect the listening experience in the slightest.
16 tracks of short grindcore blasts push forward to make a release that is well worth listening to. Anyone who knows Nasum knows they have a “classical” old-school grindcore feel. It is also well known that Nasum is well established within the grindcore scene—and for good reason. Again, the vibes are “straight grinding” and there are many bands that have a similar sound but Nasum is one of the originals and they have indeed had an impact on grindcore globally.
This is a pro release and features a pretty green cassette that was packaged with love by Death by Digital. I am unsure if this album comes in any form other than cassette but I’d suggest checking it out on whatever is available. The only negative thing I have to say is that this was not long enough and could have for sure had a few more songs. -Devin J. Meaney

Track list:
1. Dis Sucks
2. The Leak
3. Eviscerated by the Fiend
4. Shambler
5. Lack of Ammunition
6. The Machines
7. Låt inte asen styra ditt liv
8. Going Nowhere
9. Generation Ex
10. The Soil Bleeds Black
11. Hail the Chaos!
12. Fuck the System
13. The Spiral Goes Down
14. Shortcut to Extinction
15. Vows
16. Hate Division

No comments:

Post a Comment