Saturday, January 28, 2023

Full Length Review: Meshuggah "Immutable" (Atomic Fire Records) by Devin J. Meaney

Band: Meshuggah
Location: Umeå
Country: Sweden
Genre: Technical groove/thrash, djent
Full length: Immutable
Format: Digital, CD, cassette
Label: Atomic Fire Records
Release date: April 1, 2022
“Immutable” by Meshuggah! I have heard of Meshuggah...a long time ago actually. But this was never a band that I really got into. Moving forward—for Christmas 2022 my friend gave me a copy of Immutable as a present along with a few other albums on cassette. After a bit of merriment I threw it in my tape deck and I can honestly say I don’t know why I didn’t get more into this band in the past.
Featuring 13 immaculate tracks this album is a sure-fire winner if you ask me. With aggressive vocals, tight percussion and “mathy” riffs everything blends together to make for a listen that is not only enjoyable for the first play—it is something that can be played over and over and it doesn’t seem to get old. There are parts of this album with a strong “dark and eerie” atmosphere too. This paired with the heaviness of the tracks makes for a unique and unquestionably solid experience.
I don’t know where my friend purchased this tape but it says on the insert that this is a release by Atomic Fire. This label is new to me—but I do plan to check them out in the future. As for the tape in question the packaging is professional grade and so is the insert. The cassette itself is a glossy gold and overall has an intriguing appearance...and the cover art is pretty cool too!
In conclusion this is a great album and I encourage you to listen to it. This is an older band that has a “new to me” feel but as I said above my main regret when it comes to Meshuggah is not listening to these guys sooner! -Devin J. Meaney

Jens Kidman: Vocals
Fredrik Thordendal: Guitars
Mårten Hagström: Guitars
Dick Lövgren: Bass
Tomas Haake: Drums

Track list:
1. Broken Cog
2. The Abysmal Eye
3. Light the Shortening Fuse
4. Phantoms
5. Ligature Marks
6. God He Sees in Mirrors
7. They Move Below
8. Kaleidoscope
9. Black Cathedral
10. I Am That Thirst
11. The Faultless
12. Armies of the Preposterous
13. Past Tense

Band links:

No comments:

Post a Comment