Saturday, August 11, 2018

Full Length Review: KISSIN DYNAMITE Ecstasy (Metal Blade) by James K. Blaylock

Metal Blade
Place of origin: Reutlingen, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
Genre: Rock, metal
Release date: July 6, 2018 (CD, digital, streaming)
Kissin Dynamite newest effort Ecstasy is an 80s-90s hair metal head's dream. Just throw Guns N Roses, AC/DC, Whitesnake, Ratt, Dangerous Toys, Queensryche, Twisted Sister, Dokken, Skid Row, Motley Crue and Scorpions all into a blender and turn it on high octane. What you will have conjured is the sheer essence of Kissin' Dynamite! Their bravado is unmistakable, likewise their volcanic overflow of talent. Doubled with completely stellar lyrics. What we're left with is an album of all killer no filler tunes. No wonder Ecstasy is their 6th offering. These guys have definitely found the perfect configuration for longevity. With songs like I've Got the Fire, Placebo, Still Around, Waging War, Breaking the Silence & Heart of Stone you'll be begging someone to pinch you and to tell you today's date, because, surely, it's not 1988, still. Not that Kissin' Dynamite don't sound modern but they definitely pay homage to their hair metal elders. Which in my book blends perfectly well. All the generic music out there these days makes one ache for yesteryears electricity. And by God I'll take it. There you have it the Good, the Bad and The Ugly. -James K. Blaylock

Johannes Braun: Vocals
Jim Müller: Guitars
Ande Braun: Guitars
Steffen Haile: Bass
Andreas Schnitzer: Drums

Track list:
1. I've Got the Fire
2. You're Not Alone
3. Somebody's Gotta Do It
4. Ecstasy [featuring Anna Brunner]
5. Still Around
6. Superhuman
7. Placebo
8. Breaking the Silence
9. Waging War
10. One More Time
11. Heart of Stone
12. Wild Wind [Bonus track]
13. No Time to Wonder [Bonus track]

No comments:

Post a Comment