Thursday, August 30, 2018

Full Length Review: THE ETERNAL Waiting For The Endless Dawn (Inverse Records) by James K Blaylock

Waiting For The Endless Dawn
Place of origin: Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Genre: Gothic metal
Produced and mixed by Mark Kelson and Richie Poate
Engineered by Mark Kelson, Kelsonic Studios, Melbourne, Australia
Additional Engineering by Richie Poate and Peter ‘Reggie’ Bowman
Mastered by Joseph Carra, Crystal Mastering, Melbourne, Australia
Cover art by Bairon Rivera for Barnel Photography
Release date: August 17, 2018
The Australian band The Eternal's sixth album "Waiting For The Endless Dawn" reminds me of Dream Theater on steroids, but upon further inspection I realized that these guys are somewhat superior to even their sound. They definitely have a cognitive formular. Obviously they've been pulling from that same ether for some time now, being that they've been a solid group with a 15 year rocking career. Rightfully so they have a very tight-knit soundscape, which effortlessly flows. Which brings me to their sweeping lyrics. It feels like you're caught in the undertow of a wonderfully massive current, but you barely even notice since it's so serene there. With brilliant songs that span up to 20 minutes in length it's easy to get lost therein. Fortunately enough towards the end they eagerly throw you a lifeline to bring you back in to shoreline. Overall making the art of drowning somehow pristine and beautiful. There you have it The Good The Bad and The Ugly. -James K Blaylock

Mark Kelson: Guitar, vocals, mandolin, lap steel
Richie Poate: Guitar
Martin Powell: Keyboards
Dave Langlands: Bass
Marty O’Shea: Drums
Mikko Kotamäki: Growling vocals on 'In The Lilac Dusk'
Emily Saaen: Additional vocals
Erica Kennedy: Violin

Track list:
1. The Wound
2. Rise From Agony
3. A Cold Day To Face My Failure
4. I Lie In Wait
5. Don't Believe Anymore
6. In The Lilac Dusk
7. Waiting For The Endless Dawn

1 comment:

  1. Looking forward to this. looks like their best work yet.