Thursday, September 14, 2017

CD Review: EXHUMED Death Revenge

Death Revenge
To be released October 13
If you’re prepared for your eardrums to hemorrhage like Dick Van Patten in High Anxiety (but in a good way). Exhumed’s Death Revenge is to check out when it’s released next month. The San Jose, California band have been through the death metal revolution since 1991 and are the likely originators of the term “gore metal” from their 1998 album of the same name. All that time they’ve remained dedicated to the cause, faithfully releasing an endless succession of demos, singles, splits and full length CDs (six in all) of brutally heavy music. Aside from a six year hiatus from 2005 to 2011 they’ve left a mark on extreme metal that cannot be erased, and with a reformed lineup, recognition from major magazines and a track record of touring and fest appearances they’re stronger than ever as Death Revenge will reveal to everyone. Achieving their recent underground success from the grassroots is further testimony to the staying power of DM bands and their refusal to bow to trends. Exhumed establish their maturity with the album’s opening track Death Revenge Overture, a classical piece with undertones that make it sound like it would work as part of a soundtrack to a horror movie. There is another piece like this appearing midway through the album, Gravemakers Of Edinburgh. As an intro to the second half of Death Revenge it offers more of a transcendent interpretation of the material, giving it additional weight and depth. The Anatomy Act Of 1832 which makes its presence known toward the end opens with another classical intro before the song begins with a melodic feel matching the emotion of the classical instruments. As for the songs I haven’t touched on, Defenders Of The Grave, Dead End, Unspeakable, A Funeral Party and Incarnadined Hands crush like Grave, Unleashed and Bolt Thrower did at the start of their careers, with much more quantities of energy, melody and precision. Exhumed’s adherence to the early 90s ethos of playing brutal music holds up well after two and a half decades have passed, proving there are no rules to play by The band will be touring with The Black Dahlia Murder, Suffocation, Decrepit Birth and others in November and making an appearance at Ozzfest Meets Knotfest in San Bernardino, California on November 5. See Earsplit for the latest news on these dates and check out the band's promotional video for Lifeless below. -Dave Wolff

Track list:
1. Death Revenge Overture
2. Defenders Of The Grave
3. Lifeless
4. Dead End
5. Night Work
6. Unspeakable
7. Gravemakers Of Edinburgh
8. The Harrowing
9. A Funeral Party
10. The Anatomy Act Of 1832
11. Incarnadined Hands
12. Death Revenge

No comments:

Post a Comment